Silver machine

I decided to photograph our car in the style of a new car launch, I took inspiration from this billboard shot of the new Volvo V70 and thought it would be fun to mimic the style

There were a few things to consider, I needed a warm ambient light inside the car, I needed a moody/dramatic sky and I needed some controlled light on the wheels without lighting up the whole side of the car, things I didn’t have handy on Sunday were: a castle or whatever that is in the background, cobble stones and a brand new Volvo.
The shoot itself took 20 minutes and about another 30 minutes in photoshop, see the finished shot and more details after the jump

The finished image is made of 5 seperate frames as I shot different aspects one at a time. Overall I was quite happy with the result considering how little time I spent on it but I will definitely re-shoot with a better location and paying some closer attention to some aspects that I am less happy with which are: angle of the car and it’s position in the frame, front wheel slightly turned in, background and sky, foreground with more detail and some fill light on the side of the car plus I want some light skimming the front of the car so watch this space! our car btw has done 280,000 km
 (just run-in then I hear other Volvo owners say….)

Leave a Reply

